Book Review: Differentiating Instruction With Menus: Math


This is part 1 of 4 of this series.

20160523_101558The differentiating Instruction with Menus series is one of my favorite series. It happens to be one of my most used series to date. I have found that all gifted children are very smart, they still need some differentiation in the lessons.

I feel that giving gifted students a choice is a great idea. I want my students to feel as if they are in control of their learning, their grades, and their work. There is a lot of research that supports this idea, and Laurie discusses that in the introduction of the book.

As I began to read through the 3rd-5th grade second edition I started to get inspired about somethings I could do with the my upper grades students based off the menus Laurie has placed in this book. But, if I were a teacher who had 3rd through 5th grade students, this book series is one I would get. In regards to Math, what I like about this book are the menus. Laurie gives a short description of the type of menu along with the benefits, limitations, and time considerations. Everything that a teacher would need to know about a type of menu is there. There are also several menus that are listed that a math teacher can use in their classroom linked to State Standards.

If you do products with your students, you always need to have a rubric for your students to follow. This book has some great examples of rubrics. It also has idea for rubrics for students taught lessons, to teacher directed products. Laurie also has ideas and examples of how to get student feedback. All the menus and feedback forms are great, and can be used as is, or can be used a jumping off point.

I this book is a great resource for teachers and parents. I would hope that anyone who teaches math to gifted children would use this book. This resource can be used in a classroom setting, or homeschool setting.  Not only would I suggest you use this book, but also use the whole series. I have it, and I use it often in my teaching.

 

Leave a comment