Have you tried SOLE?


The more I have been reading about SOLE (Self-Organized Learning Environments) the more I starting to realize that in a pull out program like the one I run it may be the best fit.

So what is SOLE? SOLE was designed by Sugata Mitra a TEDPrise Winner  and has a belief that an education paradigm called Child Driven Learning.

Child Driven Learning is:

  • Self Organized
  • Curious
  • Engaged
  • Social
  • Collaborative
  • Motivated by peer-interest
  • Fueled by adult encouragement and admiration

The basic parameters of a SOLE are the following:

  • Children can choose their own groups of around 4 members
  • Children can change groups at any time
  • Children can look to see what other groups are doing and take that information back to their own group
  • Children can move around freely
  • Children are encouraged to talk and discuss with other groups
  • Children have the opportunity to share out what they learned in their friends in their groups and from other groups.

Here is a short video on how to set this up:

I will be experimenting with this concept over the school year. I am hoping that it is successful with the group of students that I have. I will start with my 5th and 6th grade students to see how this works with them. I will be sharing back over the next several weeks to explain what is going on.

I believe this is a great way for gifted students to work together, and learn from each other. I want my students to feel that they have a great control and direction of their learning. I will start by giving them some direction, and see where this takes us.

This is an exciting aspect of teaching a pull out program. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Have you tried SOLE?

  1. debbiediscovers

    Hi yes Pencils of Promise collaborated Sugata Mitra to test the SOLE model in their schools in Ghana. I raised funds to build three schools in Laos last year, two have been built already. You can watch the videos on youtube, or my fundraising website http://debbiediscovers.weebly.com/innovation

    As I grew up in the Gifted programme in Singapore, and looking back at my own study habits in school, I would be very bored if the teacher was bad or the class was too slow – to the point where it would affect my grades. But I went to Cambridge where lecturers were optional and I did not go to a single lecture in my last year but studied myself and graduated 2nd in my class.

    I totally agree with you that SOLE is the way forward with Gifted children. You just have to ignite their interest, and show them where to find the information. If you can somehow pique their curiosity to the point where they are motivated to find out more, build in quick wins early on, so there is a sense of achievement and satisfaction (but not too early, you don’t want it to come across as too easy) and a little bit of healthy competition, you have a recipe for success. Good luck! Feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

    Reply
  2. NewAgeTeacher

    I’ve heard some of my colleagues talk about SOLE before as a great way to engage. Will definitely have to look into it for my students as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

