Introverts and School Life


This morning I read an interesting article about introverts and college life at Ohio State University. Introversion is a topic that I wrote about a few months ago, and I think this is a topic that we will see more and more in the news as it draws more attention.

In the article it mentions that a student, Alexandra Grese, who is an introvert created a Facebook page called “Introverts of OSU”, with the tag line “A social club for the not-so-social.” College isn’t set up for introverts. There is a lot of forced socialization by living in dorms, and all of the clubs that are readily available to join.

After reading this article, I began to think about myself. I at times can be an introvert, but in college I feel like I began to come out of my shell.  Looking back college made me come out of my shell. I didn’t want to be alone in college. I wanted to have friends.

I started to think about my school and classroom. What do we do to help introverts be more comfortable? What in our school would interest an introvert? What opportunities do we give students who are introverts? What do I do in my classroom to make introverts welcome, and comfortable? Do my projects I assign give students who are introverts to be introverted? I don’t think I do enough to allow them to be introverts.

I applaud Alexandra Grese, for stepping out and taking a chance. I am sure it isn’t easy to get introverts together. I want to take her lead, and do something here in my school as well. I am not sure what it may be, but I will keep you posted.

I am interested in hearing what you do in your school, or classroom to make introverts feel more comfortable.

 

Leave a Reply

