Apps to Keep your Teens Safe


Over the past few days I have been having some conversations with my students about the material they are posting online. Sometimes, they scare me at how open they are at sharing their where abouts, and some of their habitual hangout spots, and with whom.

From some of these conversations, I realized my students may be gifted, but they aren’t thinking things through when it comes to social media. So I decided that I would share with them some tips and information about appropiate online sharing.

 

I started with the fact that everything they put online can be there forever. They are creating a digital foot print.  According to Webopedia, “On the Internet a digital footprint is the word used to describe the trail, traces or “footprints” that people leave online. This is information transmitted online, such as forum registration, e-mails and attachments, uploading videos or digital images and any other form of transmission of information — all of which leaves traces of personal information about yourself available to others online.”

Their digital foot print can:

  • Affect their image and reputation in the real world, and in online world
  • Affect relationships in the real world, and in online world
  • Affect their chances of getting future employment
  • Affect their chances of getting into the college they dream of

I told my students, they need to watch what they put up on line. I told them to ask themselves a few questions:

  1. Is it appropiate to all to see?
  2. How will this post, picture, or video does it respresent me properly to the online world and in my real world relationship?
  3. It is positive or negitive?
Leave a Reply

