The Noble Cause of Teaching


A few weeks ago my District brought in Jack Berckemeyer to our opening speaker to teachers and staff. He was wonderful. He was funny, sassy, and to the point. At the end of the day we received his new book Deliberate Optimism. As a staff we reading it together. I really enjoy the book. There is quote that really touched me as I read it today.

When individuals decide to become teachers, they enter an unbreakable pact with the future. They promise to do the best they can with what they have and with what they know in order to mold successfully the next generation. As, educators we know that is it our obligation to grow, to learn, and to reflect on how to improve ourselves every year so that we leave the future of this world in the best, most capable, most educated hands imaginable. If we don’t subscribe to this noble purpose, then what are we doing in education? (page 5)

I love being a teacher. I love having professional development that feeds my teacher soul. I love having conversations with others in my field, or who share my passion for teaching, for advocating for gifted children, and helping parents and being a resource whenever I can.

What struck me about that passage above is the very first line. As teachers we enter an unbreakable pact with the futureYou and I know that being a teacher isn’t easy, and at times can bad for our health. If you are like me you can take the emotions of work home. I love my students, but I also know their home life can be unpleasant. I take those thoughts home with me. I worry about them. I also look forward to seeing them week to week. I try to live out in front of them that unbreakable pact.

Teachers have a tough job, and to be at a tough job you have to have deliberate optimism. Stay positive. Talk to others who share your passion. Get rejuvenated. Ponder why you got in to education, and capture that passion.

One thought on “The Noble Cause of Teaching

  1. Michael

    I was challenged a few years ago to formally write out my “personal mission” in education. It was a difficult, but immensely useful exercise.

    Here’s what I came up with: “I want to help students learn to be able to define and achieve what the highest level of success means for them.” My proudest accomplishments are built on that foundation.

    Great post! Another book to add to my reading list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

