Setting Yourself on Fire


I have been reading the book Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess as a book study for a gifted advisory board I am on. If you haven’t read this book yet, I would strongly suggest you do.

Today I was re-reading the section on passion. A quote stood out to me:

Light yourself on fire with enthusiasm and people will come from miles around just to watch you burn.

As a teacher you have to have enthusiasm and passion for either the subject you are teaching or the passion for teaching in general. Our students have everything competing for their attention. You have be enthusiastic in your teaching to hold their attention and for them to hold on the content.

What I love about that quote from above is the idea that enthusiasm is a flame. That flame when fanned can spread. Its starts with one person who is passionate about their content, career, or their students. It could also be a combination of the three. When that fire of enthusiasm is burning bright people will come to see what its about. Your students will be caught up in your blaze. They may not be passionate about your content for life, but they can begin to appreciate your content.

I once saw Hal Holbrook do his famous Mark Twain show. He was awesome. I was consumed by the story of Mark Twain and the famous quotes he said. I can remember thinking when the show was over how I wanted my students to be consumed with the lessons I was teaching them like I was with Hal’s portrayal of Mark Twain.

Do your students see your blaze?

One thought on “Setting Yourself on Fire

Leave a Reply

