Remembering September 11th


plaque

Today I was teaching my students about September 11, 2001. This is the first class of students that I have that was not born when this horrendous attack happened. We had a interesting conversation for the fact that everything they have ever learned about 9/11, they learned second hand. They asked me about what I remember, and what I was doing.

I told my students that for me there is one thing that is the same about that horrific day and this one…I have a class to teach, and no matter what is happening its my responsibility to try to make every opportunity a learning opportunity.

Today, the History Channel is showing some of the personal interviews of those who were there, or lost their loved ones. I had my students watch for about 30 minutes or so.  A few of my students have seen some of the interviews of 9/11.  We also looked at some of the interactive timelines of the day.

I know in the last 13 years the world has changed. We have seen wars in the Middle East come and go with a lot of casualties on both sides. We have seen the impact of 9/11 at the airports, and other places where security is important. One the other hand we have seen some good things like the creation of the 9/11 Memorial, Freedom Tower, and 9/11 Museum.

Remembering September 11th is important. I know that I wasn’t there in NYC, or Washington D.C, or the Shanksville PA, but it was still personal to me. I think it is personal to everyone who was glued to the television watching, listening, and hoping for the best for those in those buildings and planes, and for those whose family members were in harms way.

What are you doing with your class remembering September 11th? What are some ideas you are using to share the lessons learned about 9/11?

One thought on “Remembering September 11th

  1. blog website

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I
    care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

