Advocacy: Won’t Back Down


Today’s post was inspired by a song. This past summer my family is trying to get fit. So we are walking various amounts depending on age and ability. The other day I was walking around one of our local reservoirs that’s not too far from our house listening to some music on my iPod, and this song came up that I forgot was even on there. It was Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers I Won’t Back Down. 

I listened to that song over and over while I was walking and it got me thinking about my students, my field, and about being an advocate.

When I think about advocates I think of people who run the OAGC or the NAGC, or professionals whose job it is to be an advocate. But, on the other side of that coin I think to myself,  “I have to be an advocate for my students.” I believe that an advocate is some one who stands up for what is right and what is needed for the those who can’t stand up for themselves.

Taking into account what the State Board of Education is doing lately, we need to stand up and be advocates for our children.  We need to garner help and support from the parents of our students, and voice our outrage in social media. But at the same time, we need to offer some ideas on how we would fix things. What we think is appropriate, useful, and meaningful operating standards to us may not be for the Board of Education. So we need to step up and offer our own version of operating standards that would make sense and have meaning to educators and students.

I think to be an advocate is two-fold: One aspect an advocate is to offer new ideas, new techniques, and to stay in the loop of what is going on currently going on in Gifted Education. The other aspect is stand up for our students in debates, sending emails, writing letters, and discussing on social media the needs of our students.

I want to pay homage to those who are in the trenches of advocacy. Thank you for all you do.

I can hear the melody now…

Well I won’t back down, no I won’t back down
You could stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down

Gonna stand my ground, won’t be turned around
And I’ll keep this world from draggin’ me down
Gonna stand my ground and I won’t back down

Chorus
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
Hey I will stand my ground
And I won’t back down

Well I know what’s right, I got just one life
In a world that keeps on pushin’ me around
But I’ll stand my ground and I won’t back down

Hey baby there ain’t no easy way out
Hey I will stand my ground
And I won’t back down

Leave a Reply

