Staying Creative at the End of the Year


I know many of you, like me, see the end of the year coming to a close. The weather is getting warmer, and the student body seems to get a little more unfocused. You probably have had your state testing done as well. So how do you keep your students from getting bored in your classroom while you teach them? Here is a few things I do to keep the boredom  to a minimum.

1. Get the students involved. This time of the year I focus on more students involvement in my lessons. We have debates and discussions and less lectures. I try to get them focused on the topic rather than the nice weather outside. We do a lot of hands on activities.

2. Shake up your routines. Sometimes you just have to do things a little differently in your classroom to keep students on their toes. Take away the everyday routine with something that is fun and engaging.

3. Try something new. With all of the major testing behind you try some teaching technique that read about in a blog or on-line, or you may want to try a new unit that you have been thinking about doing but not sure if it would go over well with your students. You may try to incorporate some new technology you have been wanting to explore with your students.

I have found that this time of the year, I have to be on my game.   Learning should continue until the last day of school. To help me I read blogs, and hop on Twitter or G+ to look for ideas. There are so many creative teachers out there that the ideas you can find could keep your busy all year!

For example, I have always wanted to do a Skype session with my students. So I put out an ad on Education.skype.com, I blogged about it, and posted it on twitter and G+. I have gotten some great responses. I can’t wait to start it. I know this will be something my students will be looking forward to, and learn a lot from. After the sessions finish I will blog about it.

I am hoping that next year, I will be able to do more creative ideas to keep my students focused, and engaged throughout the year. You know you always have to be on your game.

So, what do you do to keep the boredom down to a minimum with your students this time of year?

Leave a Reply

