My Thoughts on The Newtown Tragedy


Last Friday I sat in my classroom and watched some of the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary unfold. I watched in horror as the news reported that so meany were dead. It broke my heart. To hear that a person who has access to guns and uses those guns to take the lives of little children, teachers and administrators. These senseless killings took the lives of children and adults who had no cat  in the fight of man.

 In part of a letter written by our Superintendent  wrote:  

A.L.I.C.E. represents Alert, Lockdown, Inform, Counter, Evacuate.  It is an approach that the Lima City Schools has embraced for several years. The basic premise is that that we lockdown when necessary and when we know there is no viable escape option, make sure that we inform the school of what is happening, counter our attacker if necessary and evacuate if there is an opportunity. It is always acceptable to escape out of the building with your students in the event that there is an active shooter and you feel that escape is an option. We have always said that, if escaping, to teach your students to run to the lights of the emergency vehicles." 


This week, I have decided to go over our own training with my students to make sure we know what to do if we had an armed intruder in our school building. I will do this in a way not to scare my students, but to make sure they are informed of what they can do to protect themselves and survive to tell the tale.

I also, so an article on NBCnews.com that really touched my heart. The article talks about dedicating #26actsofkindness to the 26 victims of the massacre. On twitter there are various versions of the hash-tag such as #20acts, #26acts. Tell something you have done to help someone then use the hash-tag  Here is an example of what someone posted to twitter.

26Acts of kindness to honor

I also want to challenge you today, along with myself. Post your #26actsof kindness to twitter or Facebook  using the hash-tag. See what good you can do. You will probably surprise yourself.

If you want to send letters of condolences to the victims of this horrific tragedy they can be sent to:

PO Box 3700, Newtown, Connecticut 06470

If you want to donate to the United Way here is the information to do that:

https://newtown.uwwesternct.org/or call 800-461-0672.

Leave a Reply

