Thoughts for Next Year


I know this school year  over, but I still think about next year. I have a few goals that I would like to do next year. I want to list them below, and I hope to check back on this to see if I have followed through with a few of this goals.

Technology

I want to incorporate more technology into my classroom. I want to look at using cellphones in my classroom. Last year we did a unit using cell phone cameras. I think I may try poll everywhere, or text the mob  to add some variety into my classroom.

I plan on using blogs again in my classroom, and I will continue to update my own blog. I am thinking of starting my own Facebook page to share what is going on with my classes. I think this will also help with parent communication as well. I already have a Google Plus account that I use with some of my students.

I will continue to use Google Sketch-up and other Google products that my students can use to be challenged.

Development of Skills

As next year comes around, I want to focus on development of a few skills. One of those skills is real research. Not just research that someone else did A.K.A. Wikipedia, but real research. Research using multiple sources, and multiple types of resources. I may have to have some people come in to help me with this such as the librarian or the Language Arts teachers, but I feel that it has to be done.

I also want to develop more mental skills. I feel that last year I didn’t do enough mental work. Don’t get me wrong, we did some challenging projects, but there wasn’t the brain exercises that I have done in the past.

Finally, I want to teach my students to be more creative. Sometimes they sell themselves too short. I need to teach them to look at alternative ways of doing things. Some call this thinking outside the box. I am not sure how I will do this, but I believe I will find a way to that.

Work with the High School

Finally one goal that I have is to have my 8th graders to do a project with the high school. I know that one of the principals at the high school has suggested I collaborate with some of his teachers. I am hoping this will be a great way for my 8th graders to be introduced to the ways of the high school.

I hope that this coming year will be awesome, but for now I will just re-cooperate for the next few weeks, and begin to come up with some ideas for next year.

One thought on “Thoughts for Next Year

Leave a Reply

