Inspiration: Some thoughts


For the last few days I have been thinking about what to blog. I went through my Google Reader thinking I could get some inspiration from there. I also went to my Tweet Deck and Google+ streams to get some inspiration. Then it hit me. Inspiration should be my topic.

The funny thing about inspiration to me is that once I get it sometimes I don’t know what to next. I get a great idea, like the one for this blog, then I go blank. So I thought I would start with the definition. According to dictionary.com inspiration means:

1. an inspiring or animating action or influence: I cannot write poetry without inspiration.
2. something inspired, as an idea.
3. a result of inspired activity.
4. a thing or person that inspires.
5. Theology .
      a. a divine influence directly and immediately exerted upon the mind or soul.
       b. the divine quality of the writings or words of a person so influenced.
The definition is pretty straight forward. After thinking about the definition of inspiration, I started to wonder where does inspiration come from. How do you know you have been inspired? Who inspires me? Who do I inspire? What inspires me? What do I do to inspire others?
As a teacher, I hope that I inspire my students to be creative, risk-takers, and independent life-long learners. I hope that I inspire them to learn from their mistakes as I discuss with them at times how I learned from my mistakes. I know for a fact, that I have several students who inspire me to be a better teacher. They push me to take them deeper into a subject, or to be more flexible in the direction the class wants to take a particular subject or class period.
Sometimes, my students inspire me to come out of my shell at times. They introduce me to different things. For exmaple, a students introduced me to the following video.

After some pondering, my conclusion is that inspiration comes from different places. It can happen at any moment. You can inspire someone with a look, gesture, or a few words.  For example, look at the following list of words:

a, am, and, anywhere, are, be, boat, box, car, could, dark, do, eat, eggs, fox, goat, good, green, ham, here, house, I, if, in, let, like, may, me, mouse, not, on, or, rain, Sam, say, see, so, thank, that, the, them, there, they, train, tree, try, will, with, would, your

You may not find this list too complicated. Actually it is quite a simple list of words, but I bet that you have been inspired by them. These are words in Dr. Seuss’ Green Eggs and Ham. I love this book. I have been inspired by this book.

Think about it. We all can inspire, and we can all be inspired. You just have to let yourself be open to it.

Leave a Reply

