Somethings I am not Sorry for…


It always seems that in education there is something that somebody is sorry for. But sometimes you can’t apologize for something. Here is some things that I am not sorry for:

  • I am not sorry for challenging my students to be the best people they can be.
  • I am not sorry for stretching my student’s  imagination.
  • I am not sorry for introducing technology to my students that allows them to have another outlet that their creativity to grow.
  • I am not sorry for for being an advocate for my students.
  • I am not sorry for trying to spread the word that “Being Gifted” doesn’t mean give me more work.
  • I am not sorry for giving my fellow teachers and administrators better ways to help my students in the regular classroom.
  • I am not sorry for “teaching differently” with my students to bring out their creativity.
  • I am not sorry for having a teaching Manifesto that may breaks from tradition.
  • I am not sorry for giving my students a voice, and in some cases being their voice.

I may not be the most impressive, innovative, creative, or caring teacher in my school or district, but I feel that I make the best with the gifts that I posses to create a  classroom that is fun, exploratory, inviting, safe, and desirable to be in.

My students know that I will be there for them when they need an advocate. My students know that I will not take less than what they can do. My students know that my goal is to make them smarter and better people, and more globally aware than they were when they walked in my classroom.

My students know me. Do your students know you?

Leave a Reply

