Getting Off the Bench


Well, it has been a while since I have blogged. The summer came and went, and I didn’t get the chance to spill out my thoughts for Gifted Education. I saw so much dialogue over the summer about what everyone was doing and planning. You can see a movement is happening in Gifted Education and advocacy. That’s exciting to see.

I had decided to be more of an observer this summer. I read transcripts from the #gtchat twitter discussions. I read a lot of twitter papers, and read about some good ideas, curriculum changes, and resources. I read what people are doing on Facebook, and Google+. What I was reading was making me proud to be a Gifted Ed. teacher. So many educators expressed what they did in the classroom, and what they did with their students. There are so many talented and creative teachers out there. Their students are so lucky to have them as teachers.

Well, its time to get off the bench, and rejoin the Gifted Ed community and make my opinions heard.  I have a lot to say, and I hope that what I say makes an impact on you as you did for me this summer.

I hope all you educators have a great year. My district completely redesigned itself from the top down. So there are a lot of changes here, and I have to be honest, I like them so far. I know its only been a week, but the redesign was needed.

Well, I know this is a short post, but its my new beginning this year of blogging. I think we all need a new beginning every once in a while. I hope that I can give you some inspiration this school year as you have been an inspiration to me this summer.

Leave a Reply

