New Project


I am ending the year with some new ideas for the next. It seems to come that way for me. So I hope that I can use my time wisely this summer (which is already busy with family, a part-time job, participating in the 2011 Dana Brain Science Educators Series, studying for the GRE exam) to possibly start a parent support group here in my district.

Why?

I know, why start a parent support group now? In our district we are doing a major restructuring of our schools. So I was thinking this would be a great time to start. I also feel that I need to be able to communicate better with the parents of our gifted students so they can understand some of the struggles that are going on to keep gifted education in place in our district, county, and state.

What would be the purpose?

I really feel the biggest assets we have are the parents of our gifted children. They need to know what is going on. I want to be an advocate for our gifted children. There is so much going on right now with the funding for gifted education that I feel that the parents my students should know what is going on, and if there is a way for them to jump into the arena to take a writing or calling campaign of our government officials then I need to help inform them.

What am I doing now?

I feel like I am doing some good. I have added an advocacy news updates to my website. I have added a new tab on this website that I am still working on. I hope to have something out soon. I have also posted some important updates on gifted education on my class blog. I also try to forward important news about gifted ed to my parents through email.

What are you doing right now?

Right now I am in the planning stages. I am trying to gather resources that will help me to start this in the fall. I already have most of the emails and telephone numbers of my parents. I want to gather more information from our other GIS staff to see what ideas they might have as well. I am looking at OAGC Handbook, which Ann Sheldon recommended.

I will keep you updated on this project. I hope that it is successful and useful to parents.

Technology: Social Media

I am hoping to create a Facebook, Twitter or a Wiki page with information some time this summer. I know that social media is an easy way to get important and timely information out to a lot of people.

Ideas

If you have any ideas, resources, or success stories you would like to share you can email me mr.jeffreyshoemaker@gmail.com or put it in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

