10 Things You Should Know About Gifted Children (Part 4): Creativity


This is the 4th installment of this Series: 10 Things to Know About Gifted Children

Gifted children are Creative

If you have ever worked with Gifted Children you know right off the bat that they are different. They can be some of the most creative people I have ever worked with. Gifted children have such a way that they can think in divergent ways, which I feel brings out their creativity.

What is creativity? Britannica Online defines being creative as “1marked by the ability or power to create : given to creating  2having the quality of something created rather than imitated : imaginative.” We know that creative children do have an ability to create new ideas and new ways of looking at something. That’s a great gift to be given.

How to do develop creativity in the classroom? Several months ago I blogged about teaching creativity being able to taught. This time I want to look at how to developing it in the classroom. I feel that in the classroom you have to give gifted children a big idea to work with. You can’t expect gifted children to sit in a classroom and work on worksheets all day. I feel that you have to tap into their strengths and likes when you are doing a project. Every student needs to be working at their strong point. Just as children have a prefered way to learn, I also think they have a prefered way to create projects. Its’s how their brain works.

To develop creativity the conditions of the classroom has to be right. Children need to have the resources to do the project, but the teacher has to be a facilitator in the process. Children need to know they can make mistakes, and explore when doing a project in the classroom. We teachers need to use the natural curiosity gifted children have and use it. Let them use their thirst for knowledge to enhance their own eduction. One of the ways I like to teach, and to set my classroom environment is to have a classroom the is centered on the discovery learning style. I believe that this kind of inquiry type learning is good for gifted children. They take what they know and apply it to learn more of the project we are studying. If you haven’t used this type of teaching, I would suggest trying it. I think your students will really surprise you in what they can do.

To conclude, work to make your classroom environment an environment to share, explore, and discover new ideas. I want to leave you with a great quote that has meant a lot to me in my teaching career from Albert Einstein “I never teach my pupils; I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn.” I hope you can take this quote and apply it to your classroom setting as I have mine.

Some Resources:

http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/creatively_gifted.htm

http://giftedkids.about.com/od/nurturinggiftsandtalents/a/creative.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discovery_learning

One thought on “10 Things You Should Know About Gifted Children (Part 4): Creativity

  1. Pingback: 10 Things you Need to Know About Gifted Kids « Ramblings of a Gifted Teacher

Leave a Reply

