My Teaching Manifesto


This manifesto was inspired by William Chamberlain’s Manifesto

I promise to build relationships with my students. I will show them they are important by creating a relationship with them. I will talk and listen to them. I will not judge them by their believes and opinions, and I will ask them to do the same with me. I want every student to know they can have an honest conversation in and out of the classroom.

I promise to teach my students in a safe environment . I will do my best to create a classroom that is free of bullying. Each student will feel free to express themselves without the thought of humiliation or criticism. I will do my best to make every student feel at home in our classroom. When an incident arises, I will listen to both sides. I will hand out discipline with fairness and respect, not out of anger or annoyance.

I promise to teach my students to the best of my ability. I will do my best to meet the educational needs of all my students. I will do my best to challenge them creatively, and cognitively. I will create lessons that will stimulate their creative and cognitive skills, and yet are fun, exciting and memorable. I will do my best to choose topics that I think my students will enjoy, and I will listen to suggestions from my students on topics they have an interest in.

I promise to be more available to my students. I will give them my phone number, email address, Skype ID, Google Talk ID, and Twitter name. I will encourage them to communicate with me inside and outside of school. I will be available to help them with their education when they need help, not just during our class period.

I promise that I will be an advocate for my students. I will speak for them when others talk negatively about them. I will stand up for them when I feel like they need a helping hand. I will offer assistance to other teachers who have my students to help them meet their needs when they are in the regular classroom.

I promise to model learning to my students in my classroom. I promise to look for ways to improve my teaching for my students. I will be honest with them on what I do know and what I don’t. I will show them that I am an individual who is still learning things everyday. (Sometimes from them!) I will do my best to model the different types of learning in my classroom, and in my lessons.

I promise to take a stake in their future. I promise that I will continue to be a positive role model for them after they leave my program. I will do my best to support them in their school activities through being there in person, encouraging them in words, or listening to them talk about their experiences.  

I believe that education isn’t just about what you are teaching in your classroom while they are with you; it’s about what they learned from you after they leave your classroom.

2 thoughts on “My Teaching Manifesto

  1. Colleen

    This is great, Jefferey! It warms the heart to imagine a teacher who is guided by these principles. I think it’s awesome that you’re making yourself so available to your students too. I must ask though if sharing all your personal contact info and offering help anytime will wear you out after a while. I imagine you’ll have some sort of guideline around this (as you would with an employee/employer)?

    I was excited to read your manifesto as I too shared my manifesto regarding documentary media making on my own blog: http://wiredtolearn.ca/2010/11/documentary-manifesto/
    I found it to be an excellent exercise for identifying my values in what I imagine to be a lifelong career. That said, I’m equally passionate about becoming an educator as you’ll notice from my blog. First, I’ve decided to uncover the opinions of high school educators and learners about the system they are in. I’d love to hear what you think about it.

    Regards,
    Colleen

    Reply
    1. Jeffrey Shoemaker Post author

      After commenting, I plan on looking at your manifesto. I think that every teacher should write a manifesto. Writing down the things you believe in and seeing them really is a great experience.

      For me, my students have my email, skype and GTalk account. Normally that works the best. If I need to I will give my number to students as long as will use it for the right reasons. I don’t get asked outside of class too often for help. I see my students once a week for 6 hours. Normally we can ge through the things I planned in that time. Sometimes we can’t. If they need help sometimes they will just wait until the following week, or if I see them in the building they will ask me. Most of my students don’t have an easy access to internet. They either have to go to a family member or the library. So I try to do the best I can while I have them in class.

      Can’t wait to read your other blog posts.
      Thanks
      Jeff

      Reply

Leave a Reply

