The Business of a 3rd Grader


What kind of business people do third graders make? Well, that’s what I wanted to know. So My 3rd grade class will start one for the next few weeks. We have a lot of work to do.

Over the next several weeks, my third graders will go through the factors of production (land, labor, capital goods, and entrepreneurship) to design and build this short business adventure. The product we will build and design will be bracelets, necklaces, and key chains made from strings and beads. We will also work on advertizing the product. The students will make a commercial that will run on the in-school television channels at the end of the day. We will also make posters and flyers. They will sell the product at lunch and afterschool. We will donate all the money to the National Cancer Society.

I hope that as we go through this unit, my students will get a chance to hear from some guest speakers that I am trying to arrange to come to my classroom. I also hope they get the idea that running a business isn’t an easy thing, and you should do some research about the product you want to make before you try to invest everything you have.

Over the next several weeks, I will post about the experiences we are having along with some pictures on the Flickr column.

Leave a Reply

