OAGC Teacher’s Academy: Prep 1 Month Away


Well, I have been accepted to accepted to the Ohio Association for Gifted Children’s Teacher Academy. Since this is my first time, I thought I would blog about my experience.

So, my topic is The Independent Study and The Gifted Child. I thought this would be a great topic for me since that’s one of the cool things I have done this year is do a few independent studies with my students. My students have enjoyed them, and I think I can communicate the lessons I have learned from facilitating the independent studies in my classroom.

So far I have gotten a few things together. I have some of the worksheets that we used to get our ideas down. I also have a 3-ring binder to place them, along with some tabs and separators. I have a few ideas, but I don’t know exactly how I want to go.  Here is what I think so far. I think if i do it right it will have equal parts of me talking and audience participation. 

  1. Introduction
  2. What is an independent study?
  3. What do gifted children get out of independent studies?
  4. Examples of Independent studies
  5. How to grade independent studies
  6. Audience Participation:
    1. What topics of you done in your classrooms
    2. What did your students learn from their independent studies?
    3. When trying to do an independent study what worked and what didn’t work?

As I look at this…my nerves are starting to pick up. I have never done this before. I am trying to stretch myself professionally, and I believe that this is the best way to do that. I have been writing some, which is also a great way to stretch yourself. When you write, you put yourself out there for others to read and make judgements. Sort of like this. I am doing this session, people will either like it, hate it, or be bored to death. We all have been in sessions that we like or were bored to death.

So my goal is to have a fun time with the people who come to my session. I want the session to be something that people thought it was worth while. That’s a big goal, and my nerves are shot!!….still a month away! AAAGGGGGHHHHHH!

Leave a Reply

